Cyclades Islands

The six major stars in this constellation of islands in the central Aegean Sea - Andros, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini (Thira) and Siros - are the most famous and most visited islands of Greece. The islands, which have a total land area of 976 square miles (2,528 square km), are peaks of the submerged mountain ranges of Greece. In antiquity they were the center of a Bronze Age culture, the Cycladic, noted for its white marble idols. The name Cyclades means "encircling islands," and they are so named because they form a rough circle around the sacred island of Delos, which was the legendary birthplace of Artemis and her brother Apollo. In a magnificent fusion of sunlight, stone, and sparkling aqua sea, they offer both culture and hedonism: ancient sites, Byzantine castles and museums, lively nightlife, shopping, dining, and beaches plain and fancy. The majority of the islands are arid and rocky and most also share the "Cycladic" style of brilliant white, cubist architecture. On many of the islands, the chief town, officially named Chora (meaning "town"), has come to be called by the name of the island.

Click on the links below in order to see pictures of the Cyclades Islands.

Delos Delos Museum Mykonos

Back to Greece Map

Rings page   Grisel's Home Page   Email Grisel

Go to the Peloponnese

Sign Guestbook   Guestbook   View Guestbook